Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/19/2014 2:37:53 PM EDT
I've had Direct Energy for a long time and 6 months ago they pulled a fast one and apparently the "contract" ended and it went to a variable electric transmission rate which tripled my bill.  I had to "call" them to tell them give me the regular rate again.  Here we are 6 months later but I didn't miss the piece of mail this time telling me I'm going to expire.  Not only that, all it says is that I'm going to a variable rate in a couple weeks no other option.  I just need a no nonsense company that isn't going to jerk me around every 6 months?  Do I have any good options?

Link Posted: 10/19/2014 2:41:40 PM EDT
[#1]
I've been using CL&P for 30 years without any problems other than the storms in 2011 and 2012 (if I remember the years correctly).

I don't trust the cheapo companies.
Link Posted: 10/19/2014 2:43:52 PM EDT
[#2]

Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:

I've been using CL&P for 30 years without any problems other than the storms in 2011 and 2012 (if I remember the years correctly).

View Quote

CL&P is the company but there is also an "electricity provider" option.  You are saying you also use CL&P as the transmission provider?

Link Posted: 10/19/2014 3:08:45 PM EDT
[#3]
I've used several in the past five years.  Right now I'm with Townsquare, but that will change at the end of the month.
Link Posted: 10/19/2014 3:12:07 PM EDT
[#4]
I use Direct Energy as well.

Went through the same thing last year. I've kept on top of it since then, but had the feeling it's all a scam, no matter what.

Here's what the letter I just got on Friday looks like, warning me to call soon or else it goes "variable"...

Link Posted: 10/19/2014 4:25:27 PM EDT
[#5]