Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/6/2015 11:48:36 PM EDT
He'll be 7 by opening day...

I bought a single shot break action 300 blackout handy rifle for my son's first deer rifle. It's the same size as the red Ryder he's been shooting for years. Problem is he has only ever shot iron sights. Not only does this not have iron sights but I think I want some magnification before he shoots at live animals.

So my problem is choosing which one. Needs to have good eye relief and simple.

I'm thinking about a Nikon prostaff 2-7x32. Longest shot in Georgia is probably 75 yards. This is light weight and compact. But the 32mm objective is pretty small, especially for dusk and dawn. Also I've had no experience in the pro staff line.

Any recommendations?
Link Posted: 8/7/2015 8:13:45 AM EDT
[#1]
My suggestion would be a low-mid range fixed 4x scope.

I like things simple for kids(I actually prefer EOTech style sights for kids).  Fixed power scopes will have better eye relief, and better glass for the same price as a variable power scope.

Nothing worse than an excited kid trying to see through a scope and not being able to when it matters the most.
Link Posted: 8/7/2015 8:54:28 AM EDT
[#2]
Aimpoint Micro T2

A magnified optic brings too many issues with eye relief, parallax, FOV, etc.

A 7 year-old will appreciate being able to put a red dot on a deer at up to 100 yards, pulling the trigger, and harvesting meat.

Shooting at ranges longer than that requires training and discipline that few kids his age have.
Link Posted: 8/7/2015 9:34:06 AM EDT
[#3]

Leupold FX2 2.5X Ultralight. I have 2, one on a 44Mag lever gun and the other on my 416Rigby. Really like them.

Link Posted: 8/7/2015 3:57:09 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Aimpoint Micro T2

A 7 year-old will appreciate being able to put a red dot on a deer at up to 100 yards, pulling the trigger, and harvesting meat.