Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/28/2015 9:34:44 PM EDT
I am thinking about trying my hand at smoking. Is there a smoker that you guys can suggest for a novice to play around with.Also, someone at work mentioned he uses chunk charcoal which I had never heard of. So, I guess I am looking for a recommendations for a moderate priced smoker and any tips on smoking. Thanks in advance for any suggestions
Link Posted: 6/28/2015 9:48:37 PM EDT
[#1]
I use a Masterbuilt Sportsman smoker.  http://www.basspro.com/Masterbuilt-Sportsman-Elite-2-Door-Propane-Smoker/product/10226688/?cmCat=CROSSSELL_PRODUCT I can use it with charcoal or propane.  I'm no expert.  More of an entry level smoker.  Still, I've had good results with it.
Link Posted: 6/28/2015 10:31:48 PM EDT
[#2]
I was toying around with getting a Big Green Egg, but just couldn't pull the trigger on dropping that much money.  Several of my friends have them though and you can't argue with the results.  Then I saw the one below at Lowes.  Initially I was skeptical, thinking that for $800+ less it couldn't possibly be as good. I read a bunch of reviews on line and they were almost all very positive. So, I spent about $400 on it and it is absolutely awesome. It holds temperature great, and is so air tight that when you're done cooking just close the vents and it goes out. I've cooked 3-4 times on one loading of lump charcoal. I did a pork butt a couple of weeks ago, cooked it at 285 for 7 hours with one loading of lump coal.  It is so easy to control the temps.

Another benefit is that even when it's hot inside, it never gets more than warm on the outside.  Very safe if you have kids running around, because they can't burn themselves on it.

http://www.amazon.com/Char-Griller-16620-Kamado-Charcoal-Barbecue/dp/B00GJEPTJS
Link Posted: 6/28/2015 10:44:54 PM EDT
[#3]