Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/17/2014 7:06:53 AM EDT
I am a contractor-scum, working for civil service and I'm reaching my limit. I am curious as to how much I would need to have set aside in order to retire without eating dogfood at age 70.
No kids, wife also works, I have a 38K retirement from the Navy and X amount saved. I'm 52, going on 104. Solve for X. (or in other words, combining my IRAs, non-sheltered investments and our 401's, where do i need to be to tell them to suck the purple doughnut?). Lets assume that although I have mistreated my body greatly over the last 40 years, that I make it to, oh... say 85 or so...
Oh, and I owe $165k on a house that might be worth as much as $250k.
Link Posted: 7/17/2014 7:12:23 AM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 7/17/2014 8:32:41 AM EDT
[#2]
if liberals are in office   you need to not stop working.     taxes are for the children
Link Posted: 7/17/2014 9:28:26 AM EDT
[#3]
We dont know...we dont know what your bills are, what is your mortgage, electric, house insurance, car insurance, cell phone, food, etc etc etc etc...

What you pay for your bills is what you need for retirement...There is no magic number,,some say you need a million atleast. I say bullshit..I plan to retire early with way less. Ive already done the math, my total allotment for bills should be around 1500-1600 a month. I rarely eat out, I dont plan to take vacations because where Im gonna retire, every day will be a vacation. I live below my means..

Ive been on financial sites where people needed a minimum of 4000-5000 a month to live, its all about life style.

Link Posted: 7/17/2014 1:13:39 PM EDT
[#4]
^This.  We have no idea what your needs will be in retirement.