Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/15/2014 6:27:43 AM EDT
Link Posted: 4/15/2014 6:47:18 AM EDT
[#1]
Quoted:
I was given a functional Dell 2300.  I would like to upgrade the MoBo to something more modern, with increased memory.  Main goals are playing older video games; the most modern is Stormovik series of flight sim games.

Will also use as music server (Spotify, etc.), and internet video source for my flat screen TV.

Would prefer to buy an integrated kit, if possible.  I understand that power supply cooling fan needs might change, and thus the vast preference for an integrated kit.  I am new to all this; the most I've done before is replace memory sticks and hard drive.

Current hard drive has Windows XP home Pro on it, FWIW.  I know that system will run the games.  If upgrading is required, will probably go to Windows 7.
View Quote

Upgrading Dells is rarely worth the effort, IMHO.
XP is no longer supported - either go with a linux OS or upgrade to 7.

Better yet, you can get an off lease Optiplex 760 for less than 300$, with 7 already on it. Displayport for HDMI, etc.
But whatever floats your boat!
Link Posted: 4/15/2014 6:54:12 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 4/15/2014 7:07:58 AM EDT
[#3]
if this is your machine
http://www.cnet.com/products/dell-dimension-2300-p4-2-4-ghz-256-mb-40-gb-crt-17/specs/

literally the only thing you might reuse is the case.
and I am not even sure you can do that with a dell. I remember in the past both dell and hp used some weird proprietary form factor, so a standard aftermarket board wouldn't bolt up.

the power supply is too small.
the main HD is IDE and also too small.
the optical drive might be reusable, but again, you are going PATA instead of SATA which is the common standard now.

you might save 30 bucks starting with that case assuming it has the hold downs for a standard ATX or micro ATX board.
Link Posted: 4/15/2014 8:02:15 AM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 4/15/2014 8:17:33 AM EDT
[#5]