Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page Hometown » Utah
Posted: 8/3/2016 12:39:32 AM EDT
Over the weekend, I was visiting my hometown, Fillmore. I stopped in to Pioneer Market and talked to Joe Ashman, who has owned Pioneer Market for 50 years or so. I've bought several guns off him over the years. I used to delivery papers to his mother when I was 12.

I've been looking around for a compact 9mm single stack. As luck would have it, he had a Ruger LC9s Pro in the case. It was listed for $379, and then he said, "Easton. You've bought a fair bit from me over the years and you've taken care of a lot of my friends (I'm a family doctor). Let's call it $369."

Me: "Uh, can you hold it for me for 10 minutes while I walk across the street to the ATM? I don't want you to get hit with the credit card fees."

Him: "See you in a minute."

So, I picked up a new LC9s Pro for $369 plus tax. I looked around a bit. The same gun is $359 on Buds, plus a $25 FFL fee.

If you've got a good local gun store, throw some money their way. Go see Joe. He'll take care of you.

ETA: The first gun Joe ever sold me was a Daisy Pump .177 cal air rifle. Killed many sparrows and starlings with it. I was 12. I bought it with paper route money. I had just enough money to cover the gun. I didn't even think about buying BBs. He just grinned, and tossed in a tube of BBs to close the deal.

Link Posted: 8/3/2016 7:08:02 AM EDT
[#1]
I always like to pop into small town gun stores when I'm in the area.

Fillmore is our usual stop and fill up/drain out spot when on our way to St George.

I have always meant to pop into that shop, but I'm usually passing by outside of their normal business hours.
Link Posted: 9/23/2016 10:46:33 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I always like to pop into small town gun stores when I'm in the area.

Fillmore is our usual stop and fill up/drain out spot when on our way to St George.