Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/17/2008 6:32:54 PM EDT
As some of you are aware, Magpul Dynamics hosted a basic tactical carbine class in St. Augustine, Florida this last weekend, October 11 and 12th.  Although there have been a number of AAR on these classes posted here before, I thought I would jump in and share a few thoughts and comments of my own anyways.

For perspective, I have been shooting the AR15 for about six years now.  My shooting experience includes being a life-long hunter, a few years of DCM/CMP style bullseye shooting, and I have been shooting with FDCC for about five years.  I never attended any formal training for tactical shooting prior to this class.  Although I am a vet, I never received any combat training in the military.  I did not sleep in a Best Western the night before the class.

The class started almost right on time on Saturday morning, with a delay of only a few minutes getting on to the range itself.  Costa used the time to introduce himself and to get to know each student a little bit before the actual class started.  As Neil (new-arguy) and John (Hawkeye) set up the range, Costa took a few minutes to look over everyone's rifles and kit, offering a comment or suggestion here and there, such as, "move your vertical grip forward", “tighten that sling up a couple inches” or "set your stock back another notch".  These small tips that seemed minutia at 9:00 a.m. proved to be far more significant as the day progressed.

The class started with a dialogue covering the AR15 rifle system, its controls and some of its accessories.  Costa could see that everyone in the class was pretty much glossy eyed and eager to start “getting at it”, so he covered this material quickly.