Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/23/2009 1:56:15 PM EDT
I'm considering buying some Redding competition dies. I found a group buy on another forum with some outstanding deals. It's in the general price range of nearly everything else and I thought this might be a perfect present for me from me for Christmas ;)

I'm thinking of picking up the Competition Bushing Neck Die Set. It includes:

• Competition Bushing Neck Siziing Die

• Body Die

• Competition Seating Die

So this is a Category I (.308 Winchester, 58155 set ). I'm going to be loading for a R700 in .308.

I've never used a neck die before, but from what I understand, this should extend my case life as well as give me a better fit to my chamber.

Also, assuming I understand, if the rounds get too hard to cycle (i.e. stiff) then I could use the body die to resize appropriately right ? In other words, if I need to address a stiff bolt, I can go the extra step of sizing with the body die so my stiff bolt cycle is gone or I could use this for sizing if I were to pick up an AR10 of some sort ?

Lastly, it seems I also have to buy a set of bushings for the neck sizer. How do I pick this piece ? Redding Bushing Selection says these need to be .335 to .343. How do I know what I need to order ? I'm using Lapua brass with Hornady 168 gr AMAX bullets. I also have some Hornady brass I'll be shooting until it dies.

Thanks for the help.
Link Posted: 11/23/2009 2:10:31 PM EDT
[#1]
Be aware that Redding has had extended delivery times, and so it this is a time sensitive need.....then dump the Group Buy!

You be well served with a 0.336" bushing with Lapua Brass for good neck tension.  Get the Titanium Bushing not the steel.  If you want to really take a extra measure to help with not over working the brass....you could use a 0.339 bushing on the first pass then you can use 0.336"