Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 3/20/2015 12:58:06 PM EDT
it looks cool in the movies. first doesn't it guarantee to get sand in your mag. does it save any time in a Saturday competition? in general when i have emptied a mag i remove it and place it in pocket. so when i grab the other mag for practice its got a place to go. and not in the interest of being fast just by habit at a slow safe pace.  im new to shooting in general. in my interest of maybe doing some amateur competition. i see these you tube cowboys dropping there mags.  whats the proper training for a  reload in real world situations? what is best for competition?
Link Posted: 3/20/2015 1:11:29 PM EDT
[#1]
I guarantee you that no one winning IPSC/USPSA/IDPA/3GUN, etc., matches is retaining any magazines unless they absolutely have to.

Police aren't doing it either unless they have rounds in them still.

The only people that hold onto them are the .mil guys because they have more ammo to put in them when they are empty, but likely not an emergency reload in a firefight.

After shooting in the sand a few times, I did throw one of these in my range bag: http://www.amazon.com/Kleen-Bore-MAG-WELL-BRUSH-STAGGERED/dp/B0002IMNS2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1426871325&sr=8-1

I still haven't used it yet because I carry at least 10 mags with me to a match, but if I need to, I'll clean it out.

Some people just used a paint brush, or carry a little can of compressed air.
Link Posted: 3/20/2015 1:14:25 PM EDT
[#2]
Some guys are using "dump pouches"
But nobody should train to take more time putting a empty mag anywhere. Yea this was a few years ago but there was a cop found dead at the scene with his hand in his pocket grasping the 6 empties. That is what the range officer had trained them to do at the practice range since he did not want empty brass on the ground.