Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 9/14/2005 4:28:39 PM EDT
I am pretty new to AR's and I was wondering before I buy bulk ammo what is the "potential or real" costs of damages I could incur after shooting, lets say, 3000 rounds of:

XM193   = $726.00

Wolf        =        $369.00

Savings  =  $357.00

With the savings;
1)  couldn't I just replace the damaged parts with the money I saved by buying cheap?

2)  Wouldn't even shooting the better stuff parts would still need replacing?

What say Ya'll
Jim
Link Posted: 9/14/2005 4:51:10 PM EDT
[#1]

The only verifiable "damage" I have heard about from this forum concerning Wolf ammo was maybe wearing out your extractor. Oh and its a little dirty too.

After shooting about 3000rds of the new Wolf, I have only noticed minimal wear on my extractor.  I will update further after I shoot the other 5000rds I have left.
Link Posted: 9/14/2005 4:57:26 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 9/14/2005 6:12:35 PM EDT
[#3]
For plinking or everyday playing around I think Wolf is a no brainer. It has its purpose as well as M193! The money you save on Wolf for plinking can be spent on the good stuff to rat hole.
Link Posted: 9/14/2005 7:39:00 PM EDT
[#4]
If I think wolf being bad Ammo to shoot, I would not shoot it.

Someone should shoot "bad" ammo out of anything.  But if I say it is Okay, Cheap Ammo made more reliable with  Polymer coating and it functions well in your firearm then shoot it by all means .  I would "save" my cash for the rainy day or in case you break something using it.  I am in the class of "quite" a lot of people who still have to replace something that has been damaged by a direct cause of shooting Wolf ammo.

"Wolverines!"

Link Posted: 9/14/2005 10:05:43 PM EDT
[#5]
"With the savings;
1) couldn't I just replace the damaged parts with the money I saved by buying cheap?