Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Variants
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 3/12/2007 8:17:21 PM EDT
Hi Folks,

I am new to this forum and AR15.....I am also new to the world of AR's in general, but I learn fast.

I have been looking to obtain a .243 rifle for a while and have recently decided I want to build, what I have since learned, is referred to as an "AR Variant" in .243.

I am a machinist by trade and I have a gunsmith background (CST 1996). I have built 2 custom bolt guns, and one lever gun.
I understand the concept of building a rifle, safety factors, etc.

What I am trying to determine is, which parts are caliber specific, such as the bolt and the barrel, and are the parts readily available?

Thanks
Link Posted: 3/12/2007 8:21:11 PM EDT
[#1]
I have a new in box .243 Armalite A4 upper for sale for $500. Stainless barrel. No B,C,CH.
[email protected]
Link Posted: 3/12/2007 8:29:59 PM EDT
[#2]
pretty much all the .308 parts will be just fine in a .243, since it's based on the .308 case

john
Link Posted: 3/13/2007 3:55:00 AM EDT
[#3]
What he said

Only difference tween a .30cal AR10 and a .243cal AR10 is the barrel chamber/bore
Link Posted: 3/13/2007 7:24:28 PM EDT
[#4]
Thanks for the Feed back,

So it appears I should be researching the AR 10 rather than the AR15. After looking through a lowers parts list on Armalites, AR10 vs. the AR15 I found most parts are interchangeable. I am confused about the non-interchangeable parts though.

The buffer and buffer spring are among the non-interchangeable parts, which makes sense considering the .308 is a bigger cartridge. However that begs the question, of why it is possible to mount an upper chambered in WSSM (.223, .243 and .25)(Olympic Arms) on a standard unaltered, mil spec AR15 lower, which would include a .223 buffer and buffer spring.