Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 1/4/2012 7:51:32 AM EDT
I'm a noob here and wanted to know what chrome moly is and where it was originated.  I was looking in the cleaning and maintenance section of the forum and stumbled across a website that had some type of moly extreme coating you could put in your barrels to keep it form collecting carbon, copper, and other foulings.  Some barrels come with a "chrome-moly" barrel.  Is this the same thing as the moly extreme?  Do chrome moly barrels help prevent dirty barrels as much as the moly extreme stuff?  Enlighten please, and thanks!
Link Posted: 1/4/2012 8:35:39 AM EDT
[#1]

Quoted:

I'm a noob here and wanted to know what chrome moly is and where it was originated.  I was looking in the cleaning and maintenance section of the forum and stumbled across a website that had some type of moly extreme coating you could put in your barrels to keep it form collecting carbon, copper, and other foulings.  Some barrels come with a "chrome-moly" barrel.  Is this the same thing as the moly extreme?  Do chrome moly barrels help prevent dirty barrels as much as the moly extreme stuff?  Enlighten please, and thanks!

Hate to break it to you but all barrels are chrome-moly either 4140 or 4150, unless they are stainless steel

What I think you are referring to is chrome lining, which is hard chrome, not like chrome plating on your cars bumber

http://cheaperthandirt.com/blog/?p=2678

Read above link for more info

Link Posted: 1/4/2012 9:51:30 AM EDT
[#2]