BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 2/8/2010 6:58:53 PM EDT
Well I am a first time AR-15 builder/owner so I decided to do a budget build for the first one. My plan is to have a friend who is a gunsmith help with the assembly (He has been extremely helpful with information). Well from speaking with another friend he suggested that I use BlackThorne for my complete kit (minus stripped lower) for a budget build. Most of my research kicked back mixed reviews/opinions, but most owners have been fairly happy.

I have not read about too many people who have had to deal with the customer service post order.

I have read the FAQs on the BackThorne website and it stated that a customer is responsible shipping the product back, but most of the policy seems to revolve around returns/refunds. I could see a customer having to pay for return shipping for a return/refund/exchange, but a return for out of the box damage does not make much sense.

Today I received my kit, and the first thing that I pulled out of the box was a broken/chipped stock, the second thing was the gas block on my upper had been dented. Out side of those 2 issues everything seems to be in good shape. I received the order very quickly after it was placed. I have contacted the company, and am currently awaiting the response.

I will keep everyone up to date as I hear back from the company.

Link Posted: 2/8/2010 7:02:20 PM EDT
[#1]
FIRST HA

MY FIRST FIRST

No seriously you will get mostly negative response for anything Blackthorne. There are plenty of budget kits out there that wont take your money and give you nothing but junk.
Link Posted: 2/8/2010 7:02:30 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 2/8/2010 7:04:04 PM EDT
[#3]
I've been hanging around this board for a month and the only trend more prevalent than BCM love is blackthorne hatred. I've yet to see one person here say a single decent thing about that company.