Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 12/29/2006 9:57:56 AM EDT
Thanks to the tons of help from this board I'm the proud owner of a brand spankin' new RRA ar.  Stainless steel barrel, match grade trigger.  It's a hell of a nice looking and feeling, rifle.

So... I'm a complete rookie.  I've shot my friends AR's a bunch but never a brand new one.  I have heard different ways of breaking in a new one but I'd like to solicit you'alls help so I do it right.

I've heard of shooting 10 rounds, then sweeping the barrel with a swatch of cloth and oil.  Shoot another 10 rounds and do it again.

I'm certainly not gonna load up my 30 rd clip and just go to town on it.  Melting gas tubes etc.....

I'll be using good ammo.  No wolf or other shit.

Suggestions?????     Thanks in advance.....
Link Posted: 12/29/2006 10:00:14 AM EDT
[#1]
1. No you don't "need" to.

On a match grade barrel I WOULD.

Lastly it's going to take a hell of a lot more than a 30 round mag to melt a gas tube.
Link Posted: 12/29/2006 10:03:15 AM EDT
[#2]
height=8
Quoted:
1. No you don't "need" to.

On a match grade barrel I WOULD.

Lastly it's going to take a hell of a lot more than a 30 round mag to melt a gas tube.

it is a match grade barrell...... so what is your suggestion???

I knew a 30 rd clip wouldn't do it..... i was just joking around.....

Link Posted: 12/29/2006 10:14:07 AM EDT
[#3]
I've never done any of that.  

I'll lube it up good with Mobile 1 and cycle the BCG by pulling back on the charging handle about twenty times, then run a boresnake through it and fire one round.  

Once one round is down range, I load three rounds in a magazine and shoot a group of three.  After that, I'll shoot about forty more rounds, then punch the bore.  I also periodically check the fired brass and headspace to ensure all is OK, since I build all my own.