Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/12/2009 10:44:07 AM EDT
Has anyone tried these on a whitetail?  If so how was the performance compared to other 223 bullets you have used.
Link Posted: 10/12/2009 2:19:08 PM EDT
[#1]
I'm definitely not a fan of the 223 for deer hunting. But if you hunt with it, make sure you use the heaviest softpoint you can get with a very heavy jacket to control expansion.
I'd go heavier than 55 gr and I'd avoid anything that says tactical. Use a bullet designed for hunting BIG GAME and not varmints.
Link Posted: 10/12/2009 3:41:12 PM EDT
[#2]
ditto. good advice. better yet, use a larger caliber.
Link Posted: 10/12/2009 6:03:47 PM EDT
[#3]
I understand the warnings given but, I have been hunting deer for almost 20 years and am very aware of the limits of the rounds I use (mostly 30-06 or 280) but my younger bro wants to go hunting again and I was going to use my AR and let him use the 06.  The bullet in the round I asked about has the core bonded to the jacket to penetrate barriers better.  So in my police mind (I am also a LE firearms instructor) it should work well.  I was just looking for real world info is all.  Thanks guys.
Link Posted: 10/13/2009 6:22:45 AM EDT
[#4]
I have shot a deer w/ 55gr Trophy Bonded same round.  It worked good.  I saw a 200lb sow wild hog dropped with one shot at 100yards w/ same round.  It will work, biggest problem is very small blood trail if it does run very far.  If it was a good hit - will be piled up dead somewhere- but might be hard to find.
Better yet 62 gr Barnes TSX's!
RRA15
Link Posted: 10/13/2009 10:18:59 AM EDT
[#5]
It's not too hard to drop a deer in it's tracks with a 22 LR but it's not recommended.