Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/11/2008 5:36:21 PM EDT
OK, so I've read ar-jedi's Ham Radio 101 thread and various others' posts so many times my eyes are bleeding and I've started to accumulate equipment for a portable comms box.  Before I go and spend any more money, I think I need to do some planning.

I've designed my own comms box here.  You'll see it's pretty close to what ar-jedi built (thanks for letting me stand on your shoulders, so to speak), but there are a few differences: use of a West Mountain Radio PWRgate to run the gear and simultaneously charge the batteries when it's connected to AC power, slightly smaller breakers (15A instead of 20A) for the loads, and a few other, mostly minor, items.

Here's what I've come up with:

If I didn't pick the right circuit component for the diagram, well, I'm an amateur.  But I now know how to use the EE tools in Visio - pretty slick once you invest the time to learn.

As background, I just passed my Tech exam and am waiting for my name to appear in the FCC database.  I've been working with electricity my whole life but am self-taught, so there are some definite holes in my knowledge.  I picked up this ham thing with a vengeance a couple of months ago.

Anyway, I've listed my objectives and a few questions and comments on the diagram.  I'd like to see if anyone has any comments, suggestions, or thoughts.  I'm sure there are things I haven't thought of or could be done better.  One objective I omitted from the list above is the ability to communicate long-distance in the event of an extended power outage.  I'll update the list to reflect this.

So here are my questions: