Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 8/18/2001 1:01:21 PM EDT
I'm just getting into High Power and was wondering what sort of home made target one could make to practice 200 yard offhand skills on.
Link Posted: 8/18/2001 1:02:36 PM EDT
[#1]
Cd roms!
Link Posted: 8/18/2001 1:25:36 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 8/18/2001 1:31:39 PM EDT
[#3]
Armadillo's. Did I ever mention, how much I hate the Texas state animal.
Link Posted: 8/18/2001 1:39:52 PM EDT
[#4]
[size=6]CATS[/size=6]
Link Posted: 8/18/2001 1:41:59 PM EDT
[#5]
I like paper plates. Smaller for short ranges, regular for longer ranges.  Staple them to a long stick/lath, stick them in the ground(dots in center are optional).  Some gun rag had this suggestion a few years ago.  I put them up at 50, 100, 150, 200, 250, 300, and 400yds.  I'm too lazy to put them out much further.  
Link Posted: 8/18/2001 1:42:55 PM EDT
[#6]
Fruits.  Apples, oranges, for small targets.  Pumpkins or watermelons for big targets.  Wondering neighborhood cats for moving targets.  The fruits burst and they dont leave a long lasting mess.  I guess that goes for the cats to.  If you are interested in the cats I should be able to ship at least two really quickly.
Link Posted: 8/18/2001 1:43:47 PM EDT
[#7]
Under the do not try this at home banner:
When I was young/dumb I shot a propane cannister at about 300 yards with a mini-14. Took about 15 shots to finally hit it.
Link Posted: 8/18/2001 1:45:31 PM EDT
[#8]
Thanks guns762 for an informative reply. Although I'll take the other suggestions into consideration.
Link Posted: 8/18/2001 1:46:58 PM EDT
[#9]
Monkeyboy beat me to the cat idea.  I hate those damn wondering cats.  Of couse its your neighbor that ownes them, if you call putting a bowl of food on the back porch owning.  Anyone have any quick, quiet ways of getting rid of these damn things?
Link Posted: 8/18/2001 1:50:59 PM EDT
[#10]