Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 3
Posted: 3/3/2015 6:51:26 PM EDT
Title pretty much says it all.  

I'm doing ok where I am now.  I just like to keep my options open, as in a backup plan.

I want to be a lion tamer.
Link Posted: 3/3/2015 6:59:48 PM EDT
[#1]
it isn't the training.
it is how much of a pay cut can you take starting at the bottom again.

I have been pondering that same thing for a few months now.
Am 44, just got my BS.
My field doesn't need a degree to get where I am obviously or I wouldn't be here.
I have done this work for 15 years and am quite good at it, but my degree made me look at other possible choices.
however I have no experience in that line of work.

Attempting to move over, looks like a 20k-40k pay cut, with the upside of making 20k-30k more than I make now in about 5 years. There is no chance to make the extra in 5 years doing what I do now.
might eek out another 10k over the 5 years staying put.
it would be a very painful move, with some good upside later.

if you can take that pain, Or your new field pays better starting out, then go for it.
Link Posted: 3/3/2015 7:01:04 PM EDT
[#2]
You need a financial cushion before you make any leaps.
Link Posted: 3/3/2015 7:03:48 PM EDT
[#3]
I just started as a apprentice electrician at 26

Link Posted: 3/3/2015 7:07:10 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:

View Quote

You might want to back out now before an adult bitch-slaps you, son

Link Posted: 3/3/2015 7:07:31 PM EDT
[#5]
I knew a lady who went to dental school at the age of 55 and graduated.  My father studied at night classes for ten years to get his engineering degree (45 yrs old at the time of graduation).  Bottom line' its never too late
Link Posted: 3/3/2015 7:08:27 PM EDT
[#6]
Quoted:
it isn't the training.
it is how much of a pay cut can you take starting at the bottom again.

I have been pondering that same thing for a few months now.