Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 4
Posted: 2/21/2016 12:30:55 AM EDT
I picked this up at a bankrupcy auction for $50.  It's a (near as I can tell) 1920s J.A. Fay and Eagan Model 500 "Lightning" table saw.  16" blade, all cast iron.  It weighs 1100 lbs.  

I'm not a huge woodworker, but I am a machinist and have a soft spot for old iron.  My plan is to pull this down 100%, fix the few issues it has, shot blast the entire thing, paint/powder coat it (haven't decided depends on colors I have on hand) and remachine mating surfaces.  It's incredibly intact.  The only thing it's missing is a miter gauge.  I'll likely fabricate one.  This saw is 440 volt 3 phase, 3 HP, 3600 RPM with a direct drive 16" blade.  That brings us to the first issue that needs correcting.  The motor bearings are shot.

That was the rear bearing.  The front bearing is intact but wobbles like a drunk on a unicycle and I will replace it as well.

Second issue.  The table angle adjustment has a broken casting.  This happened, in my opinion, due to the square head bolts that were ubiquitous of the period and a lack of washers.  Too much force in too small an area, eventually cracked the casting.  Luckily the broken piece was still bolted to the table, and here I have it clamped up.  I will silver solder it together.

I forgot to take a picture after soldering.  I believe I got a good fusion, as it wet in very nicely.  After painting I doubt you'll be able to tell it was repaired.  If it does not hold for some reason, I will actually weld it, and document that process with photos if it becomes necessity.  But silver soldering is easy and I believe sufficient for this part.