Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/7/2017 1:51:12 PM EDT
I bought a good camera and I'm learning how to use it in manual mode. I got it to take pictures of my children playing sports but I find myself doing more videos than pictures. I've been reading up on it and I may need a wide angle lense for general shooting and that I can use a 17-85 zoom for "interviews".

Lenses for video

This page had some good information. For a wide angle it suggests a Canon 50. The price is right on that one. Any of you guys have any tips for me or experiences to share? I'm mostly interested in videoing vacations and my kids sports.
Link Posted: 2/7/2017 2:35:44 PM EDT
[#1]
I shoot video for a living. All I have ever done. Since I got out of college in 1976 with a degree in Radio Television & Film.
17 years at a TV station in New Orleans shooting commercials, from 16mm film, 35mm and 2" Quad tape to 1" tape to Betacam/Sp/Digital to DVCPro to DVCProHD to today's memory cards.

Currently editing 7 hospital spots I shot with a professional Sony CineAlta Super 35 camera with a Nikon D7200 as a "B" camera.

Movie film travels through the camera from top to bottom so the maximum with is 24mm horizontally.
Still film travels through the camera from left to right so the maximum width is 36mm horizontally.

What I'm getting at is the Nikon DX and the Canon's version are closest to the frame of actual movie film.
Why I am pointing this out is when using still lens on a pro camera like the Sony mentioned these DX lens are a perfect match.

On the D7200 I love my Nikon 17mm-55mm F2.8 and the 70mm-210mm F2.8.
Link Posted: 2/7/2017 3:22:18 PM EDT
[#2]