Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/23/2014 4:04:31 PM EDT
A question for some of the seasoned instructors on the board:

I was recently approached by someone I know about running a training class on medical/trauma issues for a group of people.

I am a Project Appleseed instructor (as is my wife) and teach Combat Life Saver courses for my National Guard unit, and have been an FTO at my EMS agency.  In short, I know how to train people.

My question relates to doing training as an individual, not part of an organization.  Appleseed has all the liability releases and carries insurance and whatnot, obviously I don't want to go in naked on this and have something bad happen (either during or after class) and am wondering what steps those of you who teach outside of a parent organization do?

Incorporate?  Liability insurance?  Liability waivers?

Assuming you got help from a lawer to draw this stuff up, what type of lawyer did you seek out and about what did you spend?

At this point (for this class) I am not looking to make money off of this, students would be kicking in for consumable training materials and that's it (no live fire training or anything like that).  However I know there is some market for tac med training and would like to see if I can get a little side business going on.

I had a Delaware corp (now defunct) when I was doing retail consulting so I am familiar with that process, but looking for pearls of wisdom on the rest of this.

Thanks.

ETA:  would be totally interested in sitting down with someone with good information in the Colorado Front Range area to discuss this, would obviously compensate you for your time.
Link Posted: 11/24/2014 12:45:51 AM EDT
[#1]
Quoted:
A question for some of the seasoned instructors on the board:

I was recently approached by someone I know about running a training class on medical/trauma issues for a group of people.