Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/25/2017 10:46:35 PM EDT
What are the laws in SC for carrying a loaded AR type pistol in a vehicle?

I have my ccw, but I think that only applies to handguns no longer than 12".
Link Posted: 4/26/2017 12:26:46 AM EDT
[#1]
It's an interesting question.

I don't know the answer, but I am willing to pontificate on it.  I apologize for my longwindedness.
I should also note I am not a lawyer, do not take any of my ramblings as advice, seek actual legal council for a more concrete answer.

You are correct that a "concealable weapon" is defined as a firearm that is less than 12 inches, in Article 4 SECTION 23-31-210. Which defines the issuance of concealed weapons permits.

However, SECTION 16-23-10 defines a handgun for its provisions.
(1) "Handgun" means any firearm designed to expel a projectile and designed to be fired from the hand, but shall not include any firearm generally recognized or classified as an antique, curiosity, or collector's item, or any that does not fire fixed cartridges.

The relevant provision is 
SECTION 16-23-20. Unlawful carrying of handgun; exceptions.
It is unlawful for anyone to carry about the person any handgun, whether concealed or not, except as follows, unless otherwise specifically prohibited by law:

(9) a person in a vehicle if the handgun is: