Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/3/2017 10:00:35 PM EDT
Is it legal to purchase a non compliant rifle out of state and have it shipped to a NJ FFL , have the NJ FFL do the compliant work (i.e.: pin stock , permanently attach brake, etc) ,  and then do the transfer to me ,  assuming an out of state FFL is willing to ship a non compliant rifle to a NJ FFL.
Link Posted: 4/4/2017 7:37:37 AM EDT
[#1]
I'm no expert, but as long as the rifle is to NJ spec when you take possession, you're GTG.
Link Posted: 4/4/2017 7:42:48 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 4/4/2017 11:08:15 AM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
Is it legal to purchase a non compliant rifle out of state and have it shipped to a NJ FFL , have the NJ FFL do the compliant work (i.e.: pin stock , permanently attach brake, etc) ,  and then do the transfer to me ,  assuming an out of state FFL is willing to ship a non compliant rifle to a NJ FFL.
View Quote

Yes.
Link Posted: 4/4/2017 6:40:03 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:

Neither am I but I know of no exception given to NJ FFL/Gunsmith to allow possession make it compliant.
View Quote
Correct.  I couldn't find one, either.  There is an exemption for licensed dealers to possess machine guns, handguns, and rifles/shotguns without first having a machine gun license, a permit to carry a handgun, or an FID card.  But I see no exemption to 2C:39-5f (possession of assault firearms) for anyone licensed as a firearms dealer in NJ.

ETA:  Shooter_556 - can you explain how it's legal?  2C:39-5f says any person who knowingly possesses an assault firearm is guilty of a 3rd degree crime.  What makes that not apply to an FFL?
Link Posted: 4/4/2017 9:11:51 PM EDT
[#5]
Quoted:
Neither am I but I know of no exception given to NJ FFL/Gunsmith to allow possession make it compliant.
View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quoted:
Quoted: