Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/3/2016 7:32:24 AM EDT
....to Michigan and go shooting at my friends property?  FYI, I'm an Ohio resident and can legally own firearms. My understanding is that
Michigan has pistol licensing requirements: We have no such foolishness here in Ohio....
Link Posted: 5/3/2016 7:47:37 AM EDT
[#1]
Do you have an Ohio CPL?
Link Posted: 5/3/2016 7:56:45 AM EDT
[#2]
Edit apparently Michigan laws are more complicated than I remember.    This has come up before, should've remembered you do need your  CPL for a non resident handgun.
Link Posted: 5/3/2016 8:15:13 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Do you have an Ohio CPL?
View Quote

No: I don't carry. I do transport my firearms unloaded & cased when I go to the range here.
Link Posted: 5/3/2016 8:18:58 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:

Short answer either way is yes.

If you don't have your conceal carry license then you just need to have the gun unloaded and cased in your trunk for transport.
View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quoted:
Quoted:
Do you have an Ohio CPL?

Short answer either way is yes.

If you don't have your conceal carry license then you just need to have the gun unloaded and cased in your trunk for transport.

Thanks! Was sifting thru the various links to Michigan law, and could not figure-out about non-resident possession.....
Link Posted: 5/3/2016 8:25:24 AM EDT
[#5]
MCL 28.422:
(9) An individual who is not a resident of this state is not required to obtain a license under this section if all of the following conditions apply:

(a) The individual is licensed in his or her state of residence to purchase, carry, or transport a pistol.

(b) The individual is in possession of the license described in subdivision (a).

(c) The individual is the owner of the pistol he or she possesses, carries, or transports.

(d) The individual possesses the pistol for a lawful purpose.