Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/23/2016 12:09:49 PM EDT
So I'm finally considering casting my own bullets.  I'm just getting into research mode, and also need to start sourcing some lead.  I'm not looking for anyone's secret supplier or anything like that, but I would like to know if there are commercial sources for buying the appropriate scrap lead types.  I've looked at a couple of recyclers and it seems like they buy but don't sell.

Does any of you guys have a local commercial / scrap seller that you're willing to disclose?

Thanks!
Link Posted: 5/23/2016 12:34:22 PM EDT
[#1]
I think people generally stumble on lead through craigslist etc.

Many scrap places and tire stores won't even sell it to individuals. Not sure lately but generally $1 a lb for known source quality lead was normal. You can buy wheel weights etc but sometimes they have some zinc/steel and your yield ends up being alot less than the bucket weight.

I have a pile of soft pure lead but nothing to mix it with. Fortunately it doesn't take up alot of space and is likely to increase in value over time.
Link Posted: 5/23/2016 5:13:30 PM EDT
[#2]
Honestly, you are almost better off to simply buy wheel weights already in ingots for $1/lb.  I've yet to find a decent source for "soft" lead, and have only been able to find wheel weights at tire shops....but even that is unreliable.  A few months ago, I hit 6 different shops and ended up with ZERO....they are all scrapping or selling to someone else.  One of the local salvage yards will sell you all the wheel weights you want...for $0.65-75/lb or more.