Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/29/2016 3:47:26 PM EDT
So I just got a new 4runner Trail, and it needs an inaugural mountain road trip to get dirty.

I'm thinking of heading up to the Wilson Creek area Sunday and playing on some of those gravel roads, doing a few hikes with the dog, maybe around the Linville Gorge too.

Anyone have some other recommendations? I'm in the Lake Norman area. Willing to go about 2 hours away for the destination area.

This is my first real "off road capable" vehicle, so I'm a bit of a newb here. I know the Brown Mountain OHV trail system is nearby, but I'm not going that crazy yet. Also know of Uwharrie, but I've never been there before. Again, the pictures I saw online look a bit more rugged than I'd like with a new vehicle.

Thanks guys.
Link Posted: 1/29/2016 7:00:19 PM EDT
[#1]
Most of Uwharrie isn't that bad.  Been though a good bit of it with my 2WD F-150.  

You looking for mud / offload trails or what?
Link Posted: 1/29/2016 9:14:05 PM EDT
[#2]
I don't really know what I'm looking for, that's part of the problem. I've had sports cars for the last 8 years, so all I've ventured on is gravel mountain roads.

I know the 4x4 system mechanically, when to use what in theory, but I don't have too much real life experience with it besides in snow.

It'll be me and a buddy in a Wrangler Sahara, but he's about the same off road skill level as me. Basically we know snow and rough gravel trails, and that's about it.

So I wouldn't say no to some mud, as long as its not a total bog. Definitely no technical rock crawling stuff.

I've never been to Uwharrie even though I'm only like an hour away, so maybe that's a good destination spot to explore?

ETA: Website says Uwharrie OHV trails are closed until April 1. Maybe still head down there though and get a feel for the area.

Link Posted: 1/29/2016 9:32:52 PM EDT
[#3]