Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/10/2016 6:59:10 PM EDT
Let’s use this thread to discuss the specific details of the new bills signed into law. All we really hear is a one sentence summary (i.e. background checks for ammo purchases) but we could all benefit from knowing the actual details and timelines.

I’m by no means a lawyer and don’t pretend to understand everything in the bills. I did, however, do my best to read and interpret them as well as try to cross-reference the sections of existing law they amend (not all, but tried to hit the most relevant ones).

I welcome any corrections, insights, and information that provides historical context. I’m here to learn. I’ll incorporate corrections into my OP to keep it up to date. I’ve only been in CA two years so have to admit I’m still trying to understand existing laws, never mind new ones.

I’ll leave out particular sections pertaining to gun/ammo dealers and keep it focused on how they apply to individuals. Pretty much everything includes exclusions for LEO, gunsmiths, collectors, museums, etc, so I’ll leave those out as well.

Note: It’s important to understand the distinction:
Infraction – is not a criminal charge and only punishable with fines.
Misdemeanor – is considered a criminal charge and punishable by up to a year in jail and up to $1,000 fine.
Link Posted: 7/10/2016 6:59:49 PM EDT
[#1]
AB 1695 – False reporting of lost/stolen firearms.

Effective date 1/1/17

Section 1 amends Section 148.5 of the Penal Code. It makes filing a false report of lost/stolen firearms a misdemeanor.

Section 2 was contingent on the passing of AB 1176 which was VETOED. They both had to pass for this section to become law. It would have barred anyone guilty of filing a false report of a lost/stolen firearm from owning a gun for 10 years. Violation of this section was punishable by up to a year in a county jail and $1,000 fine. It no longer applies.