Posted: 8/16/2011 5:55:33 PM EDT
I've been toying around with the idea of taking one of my Garand's and
doing a complete accurizing job on it.  Lately I've been shooting out to
600 yards, and I am seeing just how the groups start to really open up
at that distance.  I've collected several good publications on
accurizing including Jerry Kuhnhausen's shop manual, the NRA reprint of
the The M1 Rifle, Clint Fowler's M1 Garand Accuracy Job and other
documents as well over the years and I have a good idea of what I want
to try to accomplish with this project.  This includes a new barrel, glass bedding, floating the handguards, trigger work and a few other modifications.  
So I decided to start with the first Garand I ever purchased, which I
bought some 20+ years ago.  I started shooting Garand matches with it,
then moved into High Power over the years.  I've lost count of the
number of rounds I've put through it, and its been one reliable rifle
and a blast to shoot.  Now that I'm done with JC Garand and High Power
matches, I can make any modification I want without worrying about the
rules, so I plan to throw all the tricks into this one.  

Here's some of
the parts for the project:

Barrel that came with the Garand when I bought it and will be replaced by a new Krieger heavy barrel.

To start things off, I ordered a Heavy barrel from Krieger (CM, 1/10
twist, 4 groove) that should be here in a few weeks.  While I'm waiting
for the barrel, I've started working on the stock.  After trying several
different stocks, I ended up using the Boyds' that's been on the rifle
since I bought it.  This one seems to be smaller than the newer Boyds'
stock, although it's still larger than a Korean War era stock.  

I know there is lot's of arguments over Boyds' stocks - some like them,
while others hate them.  I like the oversize stock and have really grown
accustomed to it , and it gives me plenty of wood for inletting and