Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/4/2017 11:35:56 AM EDT
When you drill your baffles, do you do it in the direction of the bullet's travel? I have my stamp, my supplies, a drill press and a strong desire. It however occurred to me that I have never done this before and trial and error doesn't seem like a good way to go about this.

I have:

DM 1.625" x 7" tube
DM Griffin adapter
DM RCE endcap
DM Radial cones

It will be a .30 caliber can and I am planning on clipping the cones though I am still researching the best way to do the radials. I would appreciate any input. I was pretty excited when I put it all together and it only weighed 13.2 oz before I started removing material.

Link Posted: 4/4/2017 11:40:42 AM EDT
[#1]
Start from the side that DM center marked. Direction of drill, other than following the center mark, means nothing.

Keep us posted
Link Posted: 4/4/2017 1:44:59 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Start from the side that DM center marked. Direction of drill, other than following the center mark, means nothing.

Keep us posted
View Quote
Thanks!

I am going to be overly anal retentive and a little OCD about this. 

Another question, I keep seeing people using ball end mills opposed to drill bits, why? I have a full set of carbide drill bits and lots of cutting fluid if that makes a difference.
Link Posted: 4/4/2017 3:21:21 PM EDT
[#3]
Drill bits for drilling bore hole
Ball mills, End mills, or Carbide burs for cutting your clips.
Other ways to do it, but these would be standard practice.
Link Posted: 4/4/2017 7:11:27 PM EDT
[#4]
Using a drill press to mill (side loading on the arbor/chuck) is a bad idea, just my .02.

It sounds like you are on the right path with carbide and cutting fluid and DM components.

I see you are already on the Form 1 Boards so you are probably a couple steps ahead.
Link Posted: 4/4/2017 7:51:21 PM EDT
[#5]