Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 2/4/2012 3:50:35 PM EDT
OK, I am an early adopter.  My 556 was and is flawless, my SBR 556 is flawless and I'm hoping that my 716 is that way also.  (Don't ask me about my early Kimber Solo...I think I got one made late Friday afternoon.)

I have not shot it yet, I'll go to the indoor range next week for a 25 yard zero and the outdoor range later.  I have, however, cleaned it and taken pictures.  

This is what came with it (the case is just a SIG case so I didn't take a picture of it):

Upper and lower separated:

Fire control group from above:

Looking aft towards the buffer tube (please excuse the dirty towel):

Shots of the bolt and carrier from different angles compared with a Colt (I believe) AR15 bolt and the piston:

I am not an expert on anything, especially AR piston rifles, but it appears at first blush to be well put together and robust.  It was interesting to me that the 716 bolt has what appears to me to be lightening cuts and the "carrier key" is part of the carrier group and not a separate piece.  I am told that this is the standard for piston ARs.  Since this is my first .308/7.62 AR rifle I can't compare it to any other bolt for that caliber.  I am looking forward to shooting it and I'll let you know how it turns out.
Link Posted: 2/4/2012 4:13:34 PM EDT
[#1]
Lucky
Link Posted: 2/4/2012 4:53:16 PM EDT
[#2]
Range Report Please
Link Posted: 2/4/2012 6:15:52 PM EDT
[#3]
very nice
Link Posted: 2/4/2012 6:29:44 PM EDT
[#4]
What did you pay for it?
Link Posted: 2/4/2012 6:30:54 PM EDT
[#5]
Congrats !  Gotta wait for tax return to pick mine up.
Don't  forget the range report.
Link Posted: 2/4/2012 7:49:57 PM EDT
[#6]
That may be my next set of rifles, subject to favorable range reports.

Jim
Link Posted: 2/5/2012 11:15:27 AM EDT
[#7]
OK, I wasn't going to shoot it until next week, but...