Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/27/2016 10:41:18 PM EDT
I just noticed that if I tap, poke, or otherwise cause any movement to my powder drop between charges it will drop .3 to .6 grains above the set drop.

Is this normal? I'm a noob, but have double checked all the setup instructions and function checks three times now. I can't see where anything is set up incorrectly.

Link Posted: 9/27/2016 10:44:30 PM EDT
[#1]
The consistency of the powder measure is directly coupled to how consistently you operate the press.  That's normal.

I give the powdermeasure a rap with my knuckle before running the case up.  Keep the level in the powder measure at 3/4 full or higher, otherwise, drops will start getting heavier/lighter.

You need to develop a smooth, efficient routine if you're going to get it to shine and to keep from making errors.
Link Posted: 9/27/2016 11:13:27 PM EDT
[#2]
Powder settles and as posted above, how fluidly you operate your press, will be the consistency of your loaded ammunition. Try and mount your press as solidly as possible and don't rush yourself; practice good reloading habits and great ammunition will be your reward.
Link Posted: 9/27/2016 11:46:26 PM EDT
[#3]
Be sure you are getting the powder bar to fully throw from one end to the other.  Getting them adjusted right can be an effort but it seems to be consistent.  Still anything that is a hot load near max I prefer to individually measure each powder charge.
Link Posted: 9/27/2016 11:49:20 PM EDT
[#4]

Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:

...Still anything that is a hot load near max I prefer to individually measure each powder charge.
View Quote

Ditto.  I stay about 0.5grs off max when I'm loading bulk ammo.
Link Posted: 9/28/2016 12:48:58 AM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:

View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quoted:

Quoted: