Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

A valid email is required.
Password is required.
Site Notices
5/29/2017 5:35:05 AM
Posted: 1/8/2002 6:53:54 AM EDT
Okay, I have been to the 1911forum web site and read alot about replacing the springs to help reduce muzzle flip on the 1911. Exactly what springs are they talking about? I know the recoil spring is the main spring but are there others involved when it comes to redusing muzzle climb? Has anyone gone to a smaller recoil spring on their 1911, and if so how did it improve/change performance?

Thanks

Sgtar15(aka Sgt1911)
Link Posted: 1/8/2002 7:00:57 AM EDT
The main recoil spring is the one they're talking about. I went from a 16 lb spring to 18 lb and it did reduce the muzzle flip when using ball ammo, 230 gr.

Welcome to the 1911 club.

Link Posted: 1/8/2002 7:01:41 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 1/8/2002 7:13:48 AM EDT by KurtsKustom]
Link Posted: 1/8/2002 7:01:49 AM EDT
I am not a expert.
I only use a reduced spring weight when I use low power loads, like target loads.
I also use a recoil buffer to help since it absorbs some rearward movement force of the slide, this has helped with muzzle flip.
Link Posted: 1/8/2002 5:41:11 PM EDT
Gee George, that heavy stainless SA had hardly any muzzle flip and functioned flawlessly. Why mess with it.

Remember, it's a real gun, not a 9mm
Link Posted: 1/8/2002 6:26:16 PM EDT
[incorekt bord coad]Yeah, I prefer a heavier spring. I installed a Wolff 18.5 lb recoil spring; it's the only modification I've made on my Colt 1991A1 so far. I haven't noticed much of a difference, but my 15-yr-old brother said he noticed a definite decrease in recoil. I just got it to help functioning in really dirty conditions, but it has that nice extra benefit of reducing felt recoil and muzzle flip.
Link Posted: 1/8/2002 7:29:33 PM EDT

Originally Posted By McNamara: