Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/27/2014 7:15:54 PM EDT
I finally purchased a 1911 platform, but got it in 9mm. I will advance to a 45 soon. I bought the basic GI series from Rock Island from Buds for a great price. Plus I think I get a $50 mail in rebate. It should be here on Tuesday. Where is a good place to order extra mags from. I am guessing I will try out a couple brands to see which ones work best. Midway or Brownells are the usual choices, but wondering if anyone had a good deal from another company. Thanks, Scott
Link Posted: 8/28/2014 5:03:24 AM EDT
[#1]
Back when I had a colt in 9mm I bought check mates that did not work. Metalform did and were like 20 bucks each through brownells
While some swear by wilson ( at around 40 each) I have seen some guns that do not like them. Supposedly the best are cobra/ Tripp but I have no experience with them.
Link Posted: 8/28/2014 6:18:49 AM EDT
[#2]
My Rock loves the Wilson ETM's. Those are what I use for competitions. I Kimber and Met Gar for range practice and they have been ok.
Link Posted: 8/28/2014 8:42:49 AM EDT
[#3]
My 9mm RIA hates Wilson but it loves Tripp.

It also has a strong like for Checkmate if you want to go cheaper.
Link Posted: 8/28/2014 9:55:01 PM EDT
[#4]
I run Mec-Gar mags in my RIA that I got from Numrich Gun Parts Corp and they have been flawless through 700 rounds so far. About half the price of high end mags at $22 too.

My brother runs CheckMate mags in his with equally good results.

The only reason I can see for running more expensive mags is if you really want the 10+1 capacity.
Link Posted: 8/29/2014 3:42:09 PM EDT
[#5]
I ordered my metalform 9mm mags from Brownells. They work great in the 9mm tactical.  David
Link Posted: 8/29/2014 4:20:49 PM EDT
[#6]
I have used Checkmates so far with no issues.
Link Posted: 8/30/2014 5:21:38 AM EDT
[#7]
Mec-Gars.