Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/9/2017 11:43:47 PM EDT
Got a call from my FIL today, asked if I was interested in his fathers old revolvers.Of course I was not gonna let the opportunity to put a couple heirloom pieces for my boys in the collection.

The gem of the 2 was the blued S and W 15-2 2" in the early 700,s. It is filthy and shows some wear but overall it is a nice piece that obviously was carried occasionally.

The other was an old HandR 9 shot .22LR that shows only a little wear on the cylinder teeth.

Overall I'm very happy that I was able to save these pieces and get a couple of neat revolvers. I have zero experience with either so I will gladly accept and guidance or pointers you have to share.
Link Posted: 8/10/2017 11:52:00 AM EDT
[#1]
Pics, we need pics.   The 15 with a 2" barrel?   I'm not sure I've ever seen one.  That would be a sweeeeeeeeeet revolver. Especially if it was a round butt.  My guess is it's a square but I have no clue.  I'm not an expert on what was all made.
Link Posted: 8/10/2017 12:23:34 PM EDT
[#2]
My dad has an old 9 shot H&R .22LR.  I remember Saturday afternoons with him, that revolver, my Single 6, and a brick of .22.  Those poor coffee cans

We need pics OP!
Link Posted: 8/10/2017 1:19:52 PM EDT
[#3]
Old(er) guns that "show some wear" are the most interesting guns. To me at least.

Old(er) revolvers are most times  RG........(Real Good) revolvers.

Your kids will probably enjoy them quite a bit. Learning the double action revolver trigger pull will make them better shooters overall imo. I cringe to think what my Dear Old Dad spent on .22's over the years (when they were super cheap). Thank you Dad : )
Link Posted: 8/10/2017 3:39:36 PM EDT
[#4]
I think the smith is definitely a gem. After cleaning it and giving it a thorough inspection I am very happy to own it.