Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/24/2015 10:23:16 AM EDT
I acquired my first ever revolver, an S&W model 66 no dash.  I took it out last weekend and instantly fell in love.  Action is smooth and the trigger is awesome.  The original owner I got it from replaced the grips with a set of pachmyrs.  They are nice but I want the original look.  Anyone know where I can get a set?  The gun has been polished, so I'll reevaluate restoring the original finish once I get the correct grips and see how it looks.
Link Posted: 7/24/2015 1:05:27 PM EDT
[#1]
I carried a no dash model 66 when I was a Rookie Officer, plain front sight ( no red insert) with factory wood grips.  The newer S&W  K frame grips were relieved for speed loaders but my issue 66 had the original grips with no speed loader cut out on the left side.  I eventially used rubber Pachmeyer Signature grips when I started using speed loaders.

Very accurate guns even shooting double action but you need to limit the K frames to only occassional use with magnum ammo.  My last carry load was the WW 145 grain silvertip hollow point.  Winchester used a flash retardent powder plus the fully jacketed bullet penetrates hard targets better than the half or scallop jacketed hollow points.  I personally liked the 145 grain STHP better than the 125 grain JHP I previously carried.  The silvertips entered the cylinder a little easier using speed loaders than some of the more blunt 38/357 loads.  The Silvertip looked more like a semi auto pistol bullet with notched jacket.