Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » AK Discussions
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Site Notices
Posted: 10/21/2016 5:20:57 PM EDT
When I shoot or manually cycle my AK, the rear sight leaf spring will walk out towards the muzzle, causing the rear sight to flop around loose. I can slide it back in place but it does the same thing again.

Anybody have a fix for this? Is there something I am missing?

Thanks.
Link Posted: 10/21/2016 5:43:47 PM EDT
[#1]
It should be captured into the barrel trunion. Mine looks like it may be tack welded as well.  The tension of spring holds it into place on my Romanian wasr and romy G
Link Posted: 10/21/2016 5:46:25 PM EDT
[#2]
If possible, a picture of how it should look would be great. I am relatively new to AK's so I'm not sure I have it in right.
Link Posted: 10/21/2016 5:51:07 PM EDT
[#3]
OK looking at the one with ladder flipped towards barrel trunion on middle picture you can see the détent or maybe tack weld. I think that holds it. also you can see there is a slight pocket it sits in at this point. It may be a tuff fix maybe jb weld to hold it but you need to degrease it well first for it to work. I've never ran into this issue b4 so maybe others can help more. Keep us posted.

Link Posted: 10/21/2016 6:36:05 PM EDT
[#4]
I am pretty sure its just a detent, mine is at least. Mine is very light and may not be deep enought to engage the hole in the trunion.
Link Posted: 10/21/2016 6:45:11 PM EDT
[#5]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I am pretty sure its just a detent, mine is at least. Mine is very light and may not be deep enought to engage the hole in the trunion.
View Quote

That may be your problem; the detent is the only thing holding the leaf spring in place, besides the tension it puts on the rear sight leaf itself.

Maybe you can take out the rear sight spring and bend it a little to create more tension to hold it in the detent.