Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » Optics & Accessories
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Site Notices
Posted: 11/7/2014 4:42:38 PM EDT
Just bought an arsenal slr 107fr, it is the ''36'' model that comes factory with arsenals new hand guard rail (pr-01). What are the pros and cons between using the side rail with an rs regulate mount, or the hand guard with the little factory aimpoint micro mount? I know the biggest con with the side rail is that I can know longer lock my stock when folding it. Any comments would be appreciated,  I am not new to ak47's, akm's, and the like, but I am new to throwing accessories on them, thanks.
Link Posted: 11/7/2014 6:09:13 PM EDT
[#1]
I have a fill-sized Aimpoint on a TWS rail with a super low ring on my '74.  Works great.
Link Posted: 11/7/2014 6:15:49 PM EDT
[#2]
I'd say the side rail will be your strongest mounting method....
Link Posted: 11/7/2014 6:28:16 PM EDT
[#3]
I appreciate the input guys, have you handled the pr-01 rail? How does it stack up against the mi rails?
Link Posted: 11/7/2014 9:53:12 PM EDT
[#4]
I think that depends entirely on what optic you're talking about.

If you're talking about a Micro or a clone of one, either really works fine, with my preference being out on the upper handguard.

If you're talking about a full size Comp M or a Pro or something, then on a side rail mount, for sure.

Putting that much weight out on the handguard just seems to make the rifle feel funky. Especially a Pro if it's still got the QRP2 mount on it, since that thing is huge.
Link Posted: 11/8/2014 3:14:59 PM EDT
[#5]
I've got an old Aimpoint ML2 mounted on my SGL31 with an RS Regulate 1st gen side rail mount. Great setup in every way. Their newer mounts are supposed to be excellent as well.
Link Posted: 11/8/2014 4:02:35 PM EDT
[#6]
I'm fine with lightweight optics on an Ultimak or quad rail.  Heavier stuff I want over the receiver.  Rifle balance and handling mean something to me.