Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Maintenance & Cleaning
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 1/20/2016 7:45:19 PM EDT
I am fairly new to the ar platform. I went to the family ranch over the holidays and made the mistake of using steel cased ammo. Hindsight  I experienced a failure to eject. I've picked up a cleaning kit to try extract  the case but no luck. This thing is stuck. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Link Posted: 1/20/2016 7:51:46 PM EDT
[#1]
Steel rod.

Insert through muzzle.

Pound the case out.
Link Posted: 1/20/2016 7:55:37 PM EDT
[#2]
Will pick one up. The hoppes kit came with a aluminum one.
Link Posted: 1/20/2016 8:03:09 PM EDT
[#3]
It should come out easily with a steel rod.
3/16" rod (or 7/32" if they have it)  from Home Depot will be cheaper than beating on an expensive gun-store cleaning rod.

I've been through it.

You'll need to find something else to do with that steel-case ammo.
If you have a notion that you'll "just shoot it" once you have the steel rod, you are not considering HOW GODAWFUL HOT that rod gets when you stick it down the bore right after a round is fired. You get to do that about twice before you get burned. I guess you could shoot in welder's gloves. For me, that got old real fast.

You aren't saving enough money shooting steel-case to put up with any of this sort of aggravation.
Link Posted: 1/20/2016 8:23:27 PM EDT
[#4]
Newbie mistake. Will not make this mistake again. What sucks is I have over 800 rounds of this crap. Only  good thing is that I have ak kit in 223 that I was going to get rid of. Guess I'll have that built to use ar mags.
Link Posted: 1/20/2016 8:29:49 PM EDT
[#5]
I had a WASR-3 that tolerated steel-case .223 ammo.

The novelty of shooting a WASR for no real purpose other than (I bought a case of that crap-ammo too) shooting up WOLF steel ammo got old pretty quick too.