Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 4/23/2015 2:06:06 PM EDT
I'm looking to do my first 80% lower job & have read / watched videos over numerous jigs, and still can't decide on what to get. I have 4-5 years experience running manual & CNC mills w/ current access to both. I'm currently looking for recommendations on preference of jigs with pros & cons from previous experiences.
Link Posted: 4/23/2015 2:16:32 PM EDT
[#1]
I have had good success with the 80 percent arms universal jig. I have the one that allows me to use a dewalt router for the killing portion and it's amazingly fast. From start to finish on an 80 percent lower is about 30 minutes. I also ordered their end mills kit.
Link Posted: 4/23/2015 2:24:57 PM EDT
[#2]
I have 4-5 years experience running manual & CNC mills w/ current access to both
View Quote

Can't help you on the jig advice, but make sure you aren't putting anyone in legal peril by using a machine that doesn't belong to you:

https://www.atf.gov/sites/default/files/assets/Firearms/FirearmsIndustry/atf-ruling-2015-1-manufacturing-and-gunsmithing.pdf

Link Posted: 4/23/2015 2:46:48 PM EDT
[#3]
Where did you get your lower(s)?

Whomever makes the lower often sells there own jigs.
Link Posted: 4/23/2015 2:49:57 PM EDT
[#4]
i haven't purchased any lowers at the current time. i've just been doing a lot of reading and looking around.
Link Posted: 4/23/2015 5:45:23 PM EDT
[#5]
Saw some on Amazon the other day. They were being sold as "art"  Wonder how long that will last until someone catches on. The reviews were hilarious!
Link Posted: 4/23/2015 6:03:08 PM EDT
[#6]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Saw some on Amazon the other day. They were being sold as "art"  Wonder how long that will last until someone catches on. The reviews were hilarious!
View Quote