Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 7/24/2014 8:12:56 AM EDT
Hello everyone, I'd like to start off thanking everyone here for the wealth of knowledge, tips, tricks and reviews posted across the board.
I've been lurking (i.e researching) the boards for the past 9 months or so and just soaked up everything I could without my brain exploding.
I'd say thanks to everyone here I've managed to read 2-3 hours for every dollar I've spent!

I'm completely new to the AR world even though I've been shooting other rifles/handguns for years. The most success I've had is fondling my room mates S&W MP15.
Having never even getting to shoot one (closest chance I had I got stuck working while everyone else went out) I've been looking to pick one up for the last 3-4 years
Knowing I don't enjoy dropping 800-1000 at a time I decided maybe I'd like to build one instead. The idea of spending $100 8 different times was at least a little bit better to me haha.

Basics of build-
  Spikes Tactical Zombie Lower
  DSA Inc. stripped upper
  Mas Defense 18" Stainless spiral fluted barrel. Mid length gas, .223 Wylde chamber, 1/8 twist
  PSA LPK
  PSA NIB BCG (actually have a spare one already, time to start build #2!)
  CH and handguard are cheapies from eBay. I know the whole "buy once cry once" but I wasn't ready to commit $150 +- to the handguards. Plus, at the time, I was anxious to get it done. I've been buying parts slowly since December lol

Overall the build was pretty straight forward with no "major" issues following the guide here and watching a few videos
The first part I installed was the bolt catch (managed one scuff on the lower) and I thought it was going to be much worse than it ended up being. I just wasn't expecting that much pressure to put in a roll pin.