Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 4/7/2014 11:41:59 AM EDT
Hey guys I'm new to the 3 gun world and I'm starting a custom build that I plan on shooting for 3 gun. Right now I have a base model DMPS AR15 with a 16 inch barrel and the standard DPMS gas block. It's my first AR also and it's brand new (yesterday 4/6/14). I was able to get a good deal with a quad rail and a houge pistol grip.

I'm wanting to do the following things but I need some help/advice on what to do.
Free floating full rail
Magpul Stock (solid 1 piece rifle stock)
Low profile gas block
Mag pul sights
Charging handle, full bolt from black rain
Black rain 3lb trigger
Combat sight or scope.

It will be a slow build but those are the things I want to do to my rifle. Any and a help is appreciated!
Thanks guys!
Link Posted: 4/7/2014 7:32:36 PM EDT
[#1]
Don't do any of that. Just go shoot it for a while and then figure it out later.
Link Posted: 4/7/2014 7:36:18 PM EDT
[#2]
Spend that money on ammo then figure out what you need, equipment doesn't make a better shooter !
Link Posted: 4/8/2014 4:00:26 AM EDT
[#3]
If I had your set up and were tailoring it to a 3 gun rifle, I would:

12-15" free float rail like the Samson or Rainier Evo series (easy to install and decent price)
Comp like the battle comp, Grifin M4-SD, or Spikes Dynacomp (will soften recoil and make for faster follow up shots)
Gieselle G2S or SSA trigger
1-4x scope and GOOD mount like the LaRue or ADM
Stock of your choice with a H or H2 buffer

Link Posted: 4/8/2014 4:15:42 AM EDT
[#4]

Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:

Spend that money on ammo then figure out what you need, equipment doesn't make a better shooter !
View Quote

Link Posted: 4/8/2014 4:59:40 AM EDT
[#5]
3 GUN
get a round ff tube (dpms) rifle length
A1 stock length (I would go adjustable magpul)
Jerry comp
jp trigger (or sim quailty)