Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/1/2014 3:46:27 PM EDT
http://www.thebangswitch.com/first-look-hi-lux-micro-max-b-dot-rds/

Great write-up by MAC at the link.

I've been playing with one for a few months now and it is a fantastic little sight.
Super rugged, bright, easy to use and very well made.
Hi-Lux has impressed a lot of people with the quality of their latest generation of optical sights.
This one looks good. Introductory price will only be $199!
Battery life is over 5 years.....

At the Big 3 East Media event in Daytona Florida I had a chance to speak with
Bill Alexander from Alexander Arms. They have been doing independent endurance testing on the
Hi-Lux B-Dot scope mounted to one of their .338 Semi-Auto guns.

It's interesting to note their Cold/Heat testing exceeds US military testing
-85 degrees F to +180 degrees F
the B-Dot passed without issue.

Tim Yan has a short write up here
http://www.thefirearmblog.com/blog/2014/11/08/weekend-photo-frozen-scopes/

They were also running it on a belt fed machine gun at the event.
Zero problems. Well almost zero, they had a plastic flip cover break at -85 degrees F........

I have to say I REALLY like this red dot........
Link Posted: 10/1/2014 4:32:43 PM EDT
[#1]
It looks a lot like the RDS from Holosun.  I wonder if they're the OEM.
Link Posted: 10/1/2014 6:18:42 PM EDT
[#2]
I wonder how they estimated battery life and whether those estimates are reliable.  I'm sure they have not actually been testing one for 55,000 hours.   Pardon me if I am skeptical.  Sooner or later someone, probably in China will have back engineered how Aimpoint does it, and hopefully without a patent infringement.   I'm interested, but would want to see how these do in a real world environment.   The Holosun products have had some issues.