Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Magazines
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 4/23/2016 8:52:39 PM EDT
I'm looking at designing a standard capacity (30rd) Beowulf magazine. I' located in Southeast Michigan and was wondering if anyone knew of a good injection molding facility in my area to go to with my design and to create a prototype. if this is the wrong forum I apologize.
Link Posted: 4/23/2016 10:07:56 PM EDT
[#1]
I have ZERO experience in that area but maybe a 3d printer for the design stage?
Link Posted: 4/23/2016 10:54:41 PM EDT
[#2]
You want a prototyping firm.  They'll draw it up in AutoCAD or ProEngineer, then 3D print it.

When you get the final design, THAT'S when you go to the molding company.

Beware, all that stuff is EXPENSIVE.  Molds are SUPER expensive.  A good buddy of mine does prototyping for a living in North Carolina, IM me if you want a referral.
Link Posted: 4/24/2016 2:20:41 AM EDT
[#3]
There was a thread on here some time ago from one of the mag makers discussing new mags and the costs were in the tens of thousands of dollars for EACH mold... And there was several molds made to adjust and tweak the design...

The costs are going to be prohibative unless you have something truly innovating and new, along with the financial backers to bring it to production.
Link Posted: 4/24/2016 12:28:18 PM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 4/24/2016 1:06:55 PM EDT
[#5]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:

View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quoted:
Quoted:
There was a thread on here some time ago from one of the mag makers discussing new mags and the costs were in the tens of thousands of dollars for EACH mold... And there was several molds made to adjust and tweak the design...

The costs are going to be prohibative unless you have something truly innovating and new, along with the financial backers to bring it to production.