Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » A2 Builds
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 1/19/2017 12:17:53 PM EDT
I am relatively new to the AR platform & am learning as I go.  I am doing a build and have acquired a CAA SRS Stock It says it requires an A2 Buffer tube.  I have found this one here:  https://www.midwayusa.com/product/489724/dpms-receiver-extension-buffer-tube-ar-15-a1-a2-stock  which I plan to use.  I am finding variances in springs available.  Most say "Carbine" length & this ones says that it will work with either, which confuses me:  https://www.midwayusa.com/product/693755/tubb-speedlock-systems-flat-wire-buffer-spring-ar-15-rifle-chrome-silicon  I am sort of under an impression of the more expensive, the better, especially when I see a spring like this one, costing significantly less:  https://www.midwayusa.com/product/959340/ar-stoner-buffer-spring-ar-15-rifle-stainless-steel

Can anyone point me in the right direction of what I really need, especially if I am totally pointed in the wrong direction?

Sorry for all the links, hopefully it isn't too confusing.  Appreciate any input.
Link Posted: 1/19/2017 3:27:39 PM EDT
[#1]
Welcome to the forum!  The CAA SRS stock was designed to convert A2/A4 stock into a "sniper" stock.  So if you don't already have an A2/A4 rifle lower, you will need the A1/A2/A4 buffer tube that you found on Midway's website.  As for springs, I've used both the Tubb's and the good old-fashion USGI springs and there's really no difference in performance.  But don't ask the guys who shoots competition  There's an argument for chrome-silicon to be better at holding tension for a longer "life-span", but to me it's not worth 3 times the price.  Although you didn't mention, you will also need a rifle (A1/A2/A4) buffer in order for the stock assembly to be complete.  Rifle Buffer  I hope this was helpful and keep us posted with the progress of your build.