Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Piston Systems
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 12/10/2011 4:59:05 AM EDT
Hello... Newbie here and looking forward to learn more about the AR platform , i will start by Telling you guys my story that lead to my disappointment with Sig Souer...

Former owner of a S W MP-15 that btw i think is an awesome rifle , had NO issues with this one at all but with the hype of the sig 516 patrol and its piston system I decided to sell my MP-15 to buy the Sig 516 , got the rifle on May 2011 and sat in my closet till September 2011 when i got some free time to go to the range on play with my optics, shot around 100 rds that day and went home and put the rifle away , i felt very comfortable not opening the rifle cuz the bolt looked clean so in the closet it went, 2 weeks later again got invited to go shooting with some friends to a new range that allowed rapid fire so i took the rifle to really "Test" it out, i noticed that on a slow pull of the trigger that i would not reset had to push the trigger forward to reset but during rapid fire was ok just that it seemed to kick more than my previews rifle (MP 15) so after we where done i told my buddy about the trigger problem that i was having... he said that it might by binding or that i was just a brake in issue, so i got home and opened the rifle up and found the following...

as soon that i opened the rifle this came out from where the trigger is mounted...
http://i164.photobucket.com/albums/u24/rubeneg123/GEDC0322.jpg

also the buffer was chewed up pretty bad... found a decent amount of metal filings in this area.
http://i164.photobucket.com/albums/u24/rubeneg123/IMAG0215.jpg

there is a nice dent that the cam has made in the upper...
http://i164.photobucket.com/albums/u24/rubeneg123/IMAG0288.jpg

the firing pin is worn around the edges...
http://i164.photobucket.com/albums/u24/rubeneg123/IMAG0220.jpg