Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 4/16/2014 5:39:11 PM EDT
Looking at purchasing my 1st AR, which is a better built rifle? I can't tell from the pics or descriptions, but it appears the S&W doesn't have a fwd. assist or dust cover, correct? The gun will be used mainly for plinking & predator hunting & I won't need sights as I'll be mounting a scope.
Link Posted: 4/16/2014 5:42:50 PM EDT
[#1]
SW MP
Link Posted: 4/16/2014 6:03:33 PM EDT
[#2]
M&P
Link Posted: 4/16/2014 6:06:45 PM EDT
[#3]
M&P
Link Posted: 4/16/2014 6:10:37 PM EDT
[#4]
Another vote for M&P......I have been running the 15T for five months now, which is basically a Sport with FA, Dust cover and crappy UTG FF....not one issue, 2,000 rounds and counting.  Be sure to shop around, you can find these online at Bobs, and local gun shows for around $600.  If you can, look into the 15T (found mine for $800), because it already has the LP gas block and you wouldn't have to cut off the delta ring or A2 if you ever wanted to FF.
Link Posted: 4/16/2014 6:27:22 PM EDT
[#5]
M&p only because If I remember right it's a chrome lined barrel. That being said my first ar was a DPMS Oracle and I put somewhere between 8000 and 12000 rounds through it mixed brass and steel case without one issue. Great gun and was very accurate.

Get the one you want. You will be happy with either
Link Posted: 4/16/2014 6:32:02 PM EDT
[#6]
I've got an Oracle and tricked it out some and love it. No issues what so ever.
Link Posted: 4/16/2014 6:32:56 PM EDT
[#7]
Do you need two threads on the main page to help you make up your mind?
Link Posted: 4/16/2014 6:33:09 PM EDT
[#8]
I prefer the Oracle.  Simply because it has forward assist and dustcover.  I realize those things don't really matter, but they bug me.  Either one will be a great rifle.  I have a heavily modified Oracle that I bought bone stock brand new.  No problems to speak of.