Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 7/29/2012 9:53:09 AM EDT
Well first off let me start by stating that this is my first time shooting a scoped AR-15 and that I'm not sharpshooter and thanks BrowardMason for giving me a great deal on my scope.

My set up is a Stag Arms 2TL+ with 16" chrome lined barrel with 1:7 twist with a 4-16x44 Primary Arms scope.

Schooting with Bi-pod, seated at a bench.

I first started to zero in at 50 yards using steel 55grn tulammo. Only took about 20 rounds to have it in the money.
After I moved down to 100 yards and shot the "better quality" ammo.

My biggest struggle was getting an appropriate cheek weld wile maintaining proper eye relief and of course remaining stable..
I realize this take a lot of practice but I'm kind of second guessing my set up due to its degree of comfort. I snapped a couple pics of my 2 tightest groups..

Rifle:

3 shot group of the black hills heavy match rounds:

4 shot group of the 55grn Hornady ZMAX round.

If anyone has any input or or helpful suggestions im all ears.
Link Posted: 7/29/2012 9:57:57 AM EDT
[#1]
Move your scope futher forward and get a shorter bipod and 20 round magazines
Link Posted: 7/29/2012 10:13:01 AM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:

I was thinking maybe moving the scope forward would help but did not try that. Also I don't think a shorter bipod would work worked. The elevation of the target was higher then the shooting bench. Also in 6'2 with lanky arms.
Link Posted: 7/29/2012 10:39:24 AM EDT
[#3]
Nice.  Definitely move the optic up.
Link Posted: 7/29/2012 11:25:29 AM EDT
[#4]
Definitely move the scope forward until you have the proper eye relief and your cheek weld on the stock is comfortable.