ARCHIVED ARCHIVED
  Previous Page
Page:  / 4
Author
Posted: 9/4/2009 10:21:06 AM
I recently attended a Police Carbine Conference. There was a rundown of aftermarket parts "they" (the speaker) felt should be installed on AR15 Carbine platforms. Everything pretty much made sense in my opinion with one "possible" concern and that being the "D-Fender D-Ring." Has anyone had any experience with this product. I understand what it does it theory, but I am concerned that it may be a part that when fails could cause even more problems. I have never used one before and can't say that I have seen a need, but I do not believe I am an authority by any means. Please add your constructive information regarding this aftermarket part. I am anxious to see what others have learned.
arowneragain
Jesus Saves!
Link To This Post
Posted: 9/4/2009 10:41:00 AM
Originally Posted By Southpaw_Sonny:
I recently attended a Police Carbine Conference. There was a rundown of aftermarket parts "they" (the speaker) felt should be installed on AR15 Carbine platforms. Everything pretty much made sense in my opinion with one "possible" concern and that being the "D-Fender D-Ring." Has anyone had any experience with this product. I understand what it does it theory, but I am concerned that it may be a part that when fails could cause even more problems. I have never used one before and can't say that I have seen a need, but I do not believe I am an authority by any means. Please add your constructive information regarding this aftermarket part. I am anxious to see what others have learned.

By its design (which, BTW, is virtually identical to a $0.03 O-ring) it does greatly increase extractor tension but isn't worked much and is very, very unlikely to fail within the normal service life of other parts (barrel, bolt, extractor). Having said that, if you NEED one, run it for ~3K rounds and change it.