|
|
Posted: 8/18/2009 1:37:06 PM
[Last Edit: 8/18/2009 1:40:49 PM by FREEDOM-LIBERTY]
Originally Posted By uscmCorps:
Originally Posted By TX15:
How about this one: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250421762147 At least the shippoing is cheep lol Christ ... why isn't that seller banned from ebay? Not only is it a fake, but in the description, the seller also "suggests" that this might work with a real firearm!: "We think about can use for real think if have same size." I hope the poor bastard that got suckered into buying it noticed the S&H fees were $159 !!! It looks like every single item that seller is listing is counterfeit. You guys (Magpul) may want to notify ebay as it's a pretty clear case of infringement. On another note, it should be noted that Magpul's airsoft branch, Magpul PTS, has just released a fully licensed UBR. The replica is designed solely for airsoft use and appears to be 100% not compatible with real firearms (can not accept a buffer spring etc). It should also bare the Magpul PTS logo, further differentiating it from both real UBRs and from the counterfeit UBRs. The seller has been reported... for selling counterfeit goods and for the excessive shipping... but last I saw, E-bay hasn't done anything about it. The listing is now down... but it looks like it's only because the auction has been over for more than 90 days. |
|
|
|
|
Posted: 8/26/2009 11:23:50 AM
[Last Edit: 8/26/2009 11:24:15 AM by Vermillion-line]
Counterfeit UBR & plenty of other knock off product here:
http://www.taiwangun.com/shop,show,1577 The ubr broke at the first try ![]() |
|
|
|
|
Posted: 10/19/2009 6:27:20 AM
Counterfeit firearms accessories arent the only knock-offs the Chinese peddle out, that can get people killed. They also sell knock off cosmetics and hygiene products that have been known to harm people, as well as knock off meds. People who sell merchandise in a deceitful manner, that they KNOW will kill or harm their customers, should be hanged.
This stuff pisses me off. |
|
|
|
|
Posted: 2/24/2010 10:41:50 PM
I just got a UBR from an online reseller. It only came with one cheek piece and I thought the UBRs came with 2... Is mine a knock off? How can I tell? The PDF in the OP doesn't open for me...
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: 2/24/2010 11:24:01 PM
The earlier UBR stocks came with two cheek risers ..... new models only come with one.
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: 2/25/2010 12:10:44 AM
Originally Posted By Barrocky:
The earlier UBR stocks came with two cheek risers ..... new models only come with one. OK then, there is an installation video on Youtube that shows when the main tube is installed, it locks on to the buffer extension locking on solid before the butt cap screw is installed. Mine did not do that... I had to hold it in place while I installed the screw. |
|
|
|
|
Posted: 2/25/2010 10:19:26 AM
[Last Edit: 2/25/2010 10:20:25 AM by darktide]
I dunno... when you can get a REAL UBR for sub $200 from a reputable dealer, why spend 80% of that on risking a fake?... blows my mind.
|
|
|
|
Posted: 2/25/2010 7:29:36 PM
Why are you assuming that I spent less than $200 on it??
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: 5/4/2010 11:59:10 PM
[Last Edit: 5/5/2010 12:02:01 AM by DocMedic]
Retracted
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: 5/10/2010 6:25:45 PM
good looking out... thanks for the info..
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: 5/14/2010 3:11:03 PM
[Last Edit: 5/14/2010 6:20:10 PM by Giltweasel]
questioning the authenticity of this item. Any way to tell if it's real or not? I've requested better pics of the logo.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=370376846868&_trksid=p2759.l1259 ETA: Quote from the seller:
Hi, All my items are 100% authentic, brand new in box, never used or opened, came as packaged and as delivered by the manufacturer. Please check manufacturer's website for further information and better picture about this item. Thank you ETA2: I'm buying this to see. It's priced $5-10 less than everyone else, so I suspect it's bogus. Will post pics and such when it arrives. |
|
|
|
Posted: 7/26/2010 5:22:59 PM
PLEASE NOTE:
In point #3 in the .pdf, "Markings", the text on the left side of the stock has changed with more recent models. The UBR is now patented and therefore the text should now say: "MAGPUL IND CORP PATENTED" |
|
|
|
Posted: 7/26/2010 5:24:46 PM
[Last Edit: 7/26/2010 5:25:53 PM by Dog1]
Originally Posted By Justin-Beard:
PLEASE NOTE: In point #3 in the .pdf, "Markings", the text on the left side of the stock has changed with more recent models. The UBR is now patented and therefore the text should now say: "MAGPUL IND CORP PATENTED" I bet the next run of counterfeits will say that... ![]() |
|
|
|
Posted: 9/29/2010 9:04:24 PM
They're still floating around out there... my buddy got ripped from a seller on Gun Broker. (he's filed a claim there and let Justin know already.)
I was kind of laughing at it though... it's like they're not even trying. ![]() |
|
|
|
|
Posted: 10/8/2010 8:25:04 AM
I was just ripped off by an ar15.com member here...
I bought an FDE UBR lightly used, what showed up - A UBR, no box, with all the tell tale signs. - no laser engraved positions, lack of metal reinforcements, 1X50 cage code, etc. I could post pics, but it looks just like what magpul released in thier memo. I'm not naming the user involved (yet) as I'm leaving it to them to make it right, assuming they didn't know (not sure how they wouldn't though - it was obvious to me something was amiss when I opened the USPS box.) Just curious, when a sale goes bad on EE, who can I work with on the administration staff? I have already sent a note to Justin as well. Be careful out there. |
|
|
|
|
Posted: 10/17/2010 5:15:20 PM
Originally Posted By PatriotAr15:
Counterfeit firearms accessories arent the only knock-offs the Chinese peddle out, that can get people killed. They also sell knock off cosmetics and hygiene products that have been known to harm people, as well as knock off meds. People who sell merchandise in a deceitful manner, that they KNOW will kill or harm their customers, should be hanged. This stuff pisses me off. Yeah I purchased a chinese mail order bride and when she got here, it was one of the life sized dolls. Big disappointment |
|
|
|
|
Posted: 11/2/2010 10:57:41 AM
This is how the Chinese fight their new wars...
Remember the Admiral Isoroku Yamamoto "Every blade of grass" quote? (of course, he was Japanese) Why the hell would you worry about invading a country that has a 50:50 airsoft to real weapon ratio; when all the weapons are thought to be real but are actually toys! P.S. F#@& EBAY! ![]() |
|
|
|
Posted: 6/16/2011 10:12:11 AM
yep... sleez-bay is loaded with the stuff, including a lot of MOE items.
|
|
|
|
Posted: 6/20/2011 9:11:13 AM
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: 12/27/2011 1:33:35 AM
a friend of mine found a PRS chicom clone at the Salem gun show here in Virginia...
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: 1/1/2012 11:34:06 AM
I got hit with a couple Magpul fakes last year too. I didn't even know they were fake until I SOLD one of them to another AR15.com member and he pointed this thread out to me.
I almost felt embarrassed because I've got Airsoft guns too. They looked right to me, only game with one cheek riser and it did not say COORADO! :) Gun Show buys here locally. |
|
|
|
|
Posted: 3/16/2012 5:49:51 AM
A couple of friends and I bought some MBUS at the Bangor, ME gunshow a few years back. Thought they were cool, read about them, etc. We each bought a set. Not packaged together, in Magpul boxes, everything. MSRP. I've had mine for 3 years or so. George broke his set last week and sent them back to Magpul. George figured he got them from Brownells (where he's done a lot of business - FFL / Class 3), which was incorrect, so Magpul sent out some new ones before receiving the old ones based on that info - we reminded him where he got them after Magpul sent him an email calling him a liar (thinking he was trying to screw them over.)
Long story short - I think George got everything squared away with Magpul - but the sights were in fact fakes. But we paid full price. 3 of us. Good copies - as far as we could tell - not having seen them before. Moral of the story - Buy from Magpul - or direct from a supplier. |
|
|
|
Posted: 4/1/2012 6:36:08 PM
I see a fake used pts ubr on right now
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: 6/5/2012 5:24:17 PM
Originally Posted By Magpul:
Magpul PTS products are required to have the PTS marking on them to indicate that they are intended for Airsoft or Simulated use only. So, what what are the risks involved if we put the PTS BUS rear sight on our uppers? How about the AFGs? Just curious, really. |
|
|
|
Posted: 6/5/2012 5:47:32 PM
[Last Edit: 6/5/2012 5:47:59 PM by Magpul]
Originally Posted By ErikO:
Originally Posted By Magpul:
Magpul PTS products are required to have the PTS marking on them to indicate that they are intended for Airsoft or Simulated use only. So, what what are the risks involved if we put the PTS BUS rear sight on our uppers? How about the AFGs? Just curious, really. Quality of the materials. i.e. Polymers not manufactured to the same standards or the same QC and in addition metal parts not coated to mil corrosive protection levels. Ignoring obvious durability issues, over all poor QC could make a part like an MBUS unusable for a real firearm (all MBUS front sight posts are robotic driven in to place to ensure correct orientation). |
|
|