Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 12/19/2001 9:43:20 PM EDT
What have you worn on duty you thought had the best protection and most comfortable if cost isn't a factor. Now if cost is a factor?
Thanks.
Link Posted: 12/22/2001 5:04:52 AM EDT
[#1]
No opinions?
Link Posted: 12/22/2001 7:00:28 AM EDT
[#2]
From what I've actually used I give my vote to the Gold series Safariland Zero-G. The platinum series should be better. There are newer types that should be even more comfortable but I have no experience with them.
Link Posted: 12/22/2001 11:02:44 AM EDT
[#3]
I'm fixing to buy a vest and I'm looking at the Zero-G's, I have had a Silver on and its the most best fitting vest I have seen, they taylor the vest to fit you and only you. I'm going to go with the Platium Level IIIA, its the most cutting edge, best ballistic protection vest they have, and they run around $1500
Link Posted: 12/24/2001 10:50:32 AM EDT
[#4]
BKinzey,
My department issues the Safariland Zero-G (gold level IIA). Mine sits on the shelf. I'd really like to like this vest, but I can't say that I do. It is a good looking vest and the carrier is the best I've seen. My main problems with the vest are the stiff ballistic panels and the extended coverage area of the panels design, which make it very uncomfortable during hot weather. The vest does protect a larger area of the torso than some other vest, which I guess is a selling point for some.
I've been using a Second Chance Monarch (IIA) that I purchased three or four years ago. I love the flexibility of the Monarch panels, and I'll probably get another Second Chance when I shop for a new vest in a year or so.
Take care, Mike  
Link Posted: 12/24/2001 11:46:11 AM EDT
[#5]
I'll second the Second Chance series.

They even have a new and improved version now, I forget the name.